Humanities Faculty & Staff Recognized for Employment Milestones

June 17th, 2021

Each year, the University of Arizona recognizes employees who reach anniversary milestones in five-year increments.


To be honored, employees must have served at the University for at least 10 years. In 2021, 1,122 employees across the university reached a service milestone, including 30 from the College of Humanities.


Mary Wildner-Bassett, Professor of German Studies and Dean of the College of Humanities from 2008 to 2016, receives a 35-year award.  


Two professors are honored for 30 years of service:

  • Feng-Hsi Lui, East Asian Studies
  • Cynthia White, Classics

Four professors are among the 112 recognized for Silver Anniversaries, a 25-year service award:

  • Dalila Ayoun, French and Italian
  • Anne-Marie Engels-Brooks, French and Italian
  • Melissa Fitch, Spanish and Portuguese
  • Julian Kunnie, Religious Studies and Classics

Two professors are recognized for 20 years of service:

  • Barbara Citera, German Studies
  • Karen Seat, School of International Languages, Literatures and Cultures

Ten faculty and staff members are recognized for 15 years of service:

  • Johnny Bowens, Africana Studies
  • David Bressler, Humanities Administration
  • Sonia Colina, Spanish and Portuguese
  • Robert Cote, Center for English as a Second Language
  • Jaime Fatas, Spanish and Portuguese
  • Andrea Holm, Writing Skills Improvement Program
  • Monica Morales, Spanish and Portuguese
  • Hai Ren, East Asian Studies
  • Tani Sanchez, Africana Studies
  • Paul Stewart, Center for English as a Second Language       

Among the university’s 352 first-time honorees with 10-year service awards are 11 from the College:

  • Benjamin Bessick, Humanities Administration
  • Laura Caywood, Humanities Administration
  • Kristin Doran, Spanish and Portuguese
  • Daniel Gonzales, Humanities Administration
  • Kathleen Hertenstein, Center for English as a Second Language
  • Amanda Hunt, Humanities Administration
  • Ruth Ore’Giron, Spanish and Portuguese
  • Fernanda Ortiz, Center for English as a Second Language
  • Bart Rossman, Humanities Administration
  • William Welch, Center for English as a Second Language
  • Edmund White, Public and Applied Humanities