Chatfield Awards Honor Four COH Faculty Members

December 1st, 2022

Dorrance Dean Alain-Philippe Durand is pleased to announce the recipients of the College of Humanities 2022 Helen H. Chatfield Awards.


The awards, which recognize exemplary teaching, research and service, were created in 2021 to honor the memory of alumna Helen H. Chatfield, who graduated from the University of Arizona in 1968 with degree in Spanish.


Chatfield, a successful investor and philanthropist, passed away in 2020 and left a gift to the College of Humanities in her will. The bequest, valued over $1 million, created the Helen H. Chatfield Endowment.


“We seek to honor her life, which was driven by curiosity and a sense of play,” Durand said. “These passions were consistently marked by her appreciation of work that introduced new voices and ideas to the world, or that brought to light significant figures whose contributions had been overshadowed.”


Durand said he chose to use the funds to specifically support and honor world-class faculty and support and encourage the College’s long tradition of being a leader on and off campus in diversity and inclusion.


The Helen H. Chatfield Awards each year will honor College of Humanities faculty members in four categories. The recipients are:


The Chatfield Award for Anti-Racist Research, Teaching, or Service

Aurélia Mouzet – Assistant Professor, French and Italian

Award of $5,000


The Chatfield Impact Award:

Stephanie Springer – Principal Lecturer, Public and Applied Humanities

Award of $5,000


The Chatfield Outstanding Tenured Researcher Award

Chantelle Warner – Associate Professor, German Studies

Award of $1,000


The Chatfield Outstanding Untenured Researcher Award

Kristy Slominski – Assistant Professor, Religious Studies and Classics

Award of $1,000